Smore’s Cupcakes

I made these after seeing the recipe in a book my sister-in-law gave me for Christmas and finding a similar recipe on Pinterest. I adapted the recipes and have some hopefully handy tricks if you wanted to try these.

Chocolate Cupcakes

You can use a chocolate box mix for this if you aren’t up to making a batter by scratch, it will do the trick. This recipe makes a really good chocolate cupcake though. It will make 2 dozen (maybe a few more) cupcakes.

I would recommend this recipe even if you’re just looking for a chocolate cake/cupcake recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa (I used Hershey’s brand)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk (I realized after using it that mine was not whole milk, and mine turned out just fine)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup boiling water

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350*F. Fill cupcake pan with the cupcake liners.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together – sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add – eggs, milk, oil and vanilla. Beat on medium speed for one minute.
  4. Stir in boiling water . (I microwaved the water in a glass measuring cup. After adding the water the batter is going to be very thin.)
  5. Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full with batter. (I normally use the 3/4 cup measure as a “spoon” and it works pretty well.)
  6. Bake cupcakes for approximately 22-24 minutes.
  7. Important – Cool the cupcakes completely before frosting.

Marshmallow Frosting

This is the trickiest part, and mainly why I’m posting this recipe here. Patience will help here 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 (large) egg whites
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons water
  • 1 Tablespoon light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup miniature marshmallows
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. 1In a large heatproof bowl (the metal bowl of your mixer works great), combine – egg whites, sugar, water, corn syrup, cream of tartar and salt.
  2. Set the bowl over, but not touching, simmering water in a saucepan and heat mixture, stirring constantly until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is very warm to the touch (The original recipe I found said heat until 160*, or for about 3 minutes. I didn’t have a thermometer so I couldn’t tell how hot it was. To be on the safe side I heated it for about 5 minutes).
  3. Remove the bowl from the saucepan.  Using an electric mixer, beat on medium-high speed for about 2 minutes.
  4. In a small bowl, microwave 1 cup mini marshmallows 30 seconds to 1 minute, until puffed, and starting to melt. (The first time I tried this, I accidentally burnt the marshmallows and didn’t realize it until after adding them to rest of the mixture and I had to start all over. The marshmallows is very easy to burn. I found that 45 seconds seemed to work perfect for my microwave.)
  5. Add marshmallows to mixture in electric mixer, reduce speed to low and add vanilla.  Continue beating on low until the marshmallows are melted and frosting is completely smooth. (This part can be the scariest. The last few steps happen rather quickly, and at first the frosting is going to seem like only liquid. I got really nervous so I actually walked away from the mixer for probably about 3-5 minutes. When I came back it was nice and fluffy frosting. It will appear to be “liquid-y”, but the marshmallows give it stiffness. It’s a smooth and airy frosting.)

Recipe Source – Glorious Treats

Frosting and Decorating

For frosting the cupcakes I used a #12 Wilton tip. The frosting is so light and smooth that it expands pretty nicely on the cupcakes.

I decorated with graham crackers and Hershey’s candy bar pieces.

  • For the graham crackers – I broke them apart in to the quarters they are “pre cut” in to and then cut those strips in quarters again. They work out better smaller so they don’t fall over.
    **Bake the graham crackers for about 5 minutes at 325* to dry them out so that they don’t get mushy in the frosting. (Thanks to Glorious Treats for that really handy tip. )
  • Carefully add the Hershey pieces (if you have trouble getting these to stand up you could probably cut them in half, but I used a whole piece.)

You could also use a kitchen torch to brown the edges to give them a nice toasted look, but I don’t have a kitchen torch, so I had to leave out that cute detail.

I also made these the night before I needed them. They seemed to keep okay until the next day. I did keep them in the refrigerator.

I got lots of compliments on how cute and tasty they were. Good luck!

22 thoughts on “Smore’s Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Smores Cupcakes | Kitchenables

    • I’m not sure – I didn’t want to use Marshmallow Fluff for mine and I’m not super familiar with it (other than knowing what it is). I don’t know it’s consistency or anything. I’m sure you could give it a try or maybe do some searching for a Marshmallow Fluff frosting elsewhere. Sorry I’m not more help!

      • it works, it justs melt sort of quickly compared to traditional icing. and makes them a whole lot stickier. but I made them with fluff today and they were still delicious in spit of the melt sticky gooeyness.

  2. Marshmallow Fluff works the same as Marshmallows. The consistency of the frosting may be a little more thinner than with marshmallows, but you can use less water and it will help:)

    • The boiling water creates steam underneath the mixer bowl so that your sugar can melt. It removes the mixture from direct heat so that it doesn’t burn and your eggs don’t get weird.

    • i’m not sure what exactly you’re asking here. the egg whites/frosting is the trickiest part of these. You have to use the whisk attachment of your kitchenaid and turn the speed up high and let it go for awhile until it’s “fluffy”

  3. DO NOT USE THE MARSHMALLOW FROSTING RECIPE. Whenever I made it, it was way to liquidy. My advice is to use marshmallow fluff. I wish I would have used it instead of this recipe because I wouldnt have wasted good cupcakes. Now all of them have to be thrown out. Either use marshmallow fluff or go look on another website for another marshmallow recipe.

    • Hi Kendra –

      I’m sorry you had trouble with the Marshmallow Frosting recipe. As I’ve said, the frosting is the hardest part here, and can be tricky and frustrating. I’ve made these cupcakes several times, and the very first time I made them I did have to make the frosting twice. Ever since my first mishap though, each time it’s come out okay. You do have to use the whisk beater for this, and you have to let it run on high for several minutes to get it to the right consistency. Again, I’m sorry this didn’t work out for you I’ve seen several other recipes with marshmallow fluff for frosting, but in my opinion, this frosting tasted better. Finding an alternative, however, should not be difficult.

  4. Well so far I’m on step 2 for the frosting & my water is very hot & simmering & I do have a candy thermoniter & it’s been 20 minutes & still not reading 160. I will keep you posted

  5. Oops! Sorry for the misspelling of the word thermometer. Oh we’ll. I just finished my frosting & let me say OMG! This is such a great tasting frosting. I was a bit worried due to how long I had the first step simmering on the stove, then to read the use of the Kitchenaid whip tool. I just have a simple beater & everything turned out awesome. Thank you so much

  6. The first time I made these they turned out amazing! Trying to make them again (d/t tons of requests!!) and having trouble, the icing keeps turning out very runny. It is a lot warmer in my house today. Any suggestions??

    • I would put in a little less cream cheese and/or butter of a little less rumchata if you want to try that. Id try less cream cheese first. warm weather is tough for cream cheese frosting especially.

  7. My stepdaughter and I tried making this today (along with other frosting varieties) and it came out really good. I think you need a teammate to make sure the frosting is made successfully. Thanks for sharing, Michelle!

  8. I made these for the first time today. The frosting originally was too runny but I just kept adding more melted marshmallows to it as it was being whisked. I used a lot more marshmallows than I would have expected, but it eventually came out nice and fluffy! My husband loved the frosting!

Leave a Reply

